All posts tagged: Jello

Vegan Cherry “Jello”

Today’s Vegan MoFo prompt is “Most retro recipe”. When I think of retro, I think of jello. Lots of jello. Little hot dog weenies in jello, marshmallows in jello, jello with whipped cream and pineapples and olives. (Yuckity, yuck, yuck). However, as you may know, jello is not vegan. This popular wobbly foodstuff is made of gelatin, which is derived from the skin, bones and connective tissue of animals, such as cows, chickens, and pigs. As a vegetarian, I do not consume jello either. Therefore, it’s been a pretty long time since I’ve had any of this fun flubbery madness. After learning about agar from the ever-wondrous Amy Chaplin, I figured the latter could make a good jello substitute. It turns out that *ding ding ding* I was correct. So what is agar? Agar is a flavorless seaweed that gels. It is often used as a vegetarian substitute for gelatin, and to make desserts in Japan (such as kanten). It can also be used in the biology lab as a growth medium. Pretty wild, huh? …